Skip to main content

Norwalk La Mirada Unified School District

Main Menu Toggle
Welcome Norwalk-La Mirada families and community to the 2021-22 school year!
Staff email: Office 365
Enrollment » Student Registration

Student Registration

New Student Registration 2021-22Returning Student Registration 2021-22
ENROLLMENT REQUIREMENTS
(click on arrow for complete information)
Student Immunizations for TK/K-12
 
Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Pertussis (DTaP, DTP, Tdap, or Td) — 5 doses 
(4 doses OK if one was given on or after 4th birthday. 3 doses OK if one was given on or after 7th birthday.)
For 7th-12th graders, at least 1 dose of pertussis-containing vaccine is required on or after 7th birthday.
 
Polio (OPV or IPV) — 4 doses 
(3 doses OK if one was given on or after 4th birthday)
 
Hepatitis B — 3 doses 
(not required for 7th grade entry) 
 
Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR) — 2 doses 
(Both given on or after 1st birthday) 
 
Varicella (Chickenpox) — 2 doses 
 
These immunization requirements also apply to students entering transitional kindergarten. 
 
California schools are required to check immunization records for all new student admissions at TK/Kindergarten through 12th grade and all students advancing to 7th grade before entry. Parents must show their child's Immunization Record as proof of immunization. 
 
Parents or guardians of students in any school or child-care facility, whether public or private, will no longer be allowed to submit a personal beliefs exemption to a currently-required vaccine. 
 
Medical Exemptions: Starting January 1, 2021: 
Medical exemptions can only be issued through the California Immunization Registry – Medical Exemption website (CAIR-ME) by physicians licensed in California. 
Schools and child care facilities may only accept from parents new medical exemptions that are issued using CAIR-ME.
 
For more information about this new law, please click on the link below:
Shots For School - Medical Exemptions
Oral Health Assessment: State law requires that all children entering Kindergarten or first grade, whichever is his or her first year in public school, have an oral health assessment. The law specifies that the assessment must be done by a licensed dentist or other licensed or registered dental health professional. An assessment within 12 months of enrollment into school also meets this requirement.
 
Physical Examination: State law requires that all children entering first grade must have received a physical examination (CHDP) within 18 months before or within 3 months after entering first grade.
Any parents who have a new NLMUSD student must bring an approved form of proof of residence when visiting their child’s school to complete the registration process. Returning NLMUSD students must submit proof of residence if their home address changed.
 
Acceptable documentation to verify residency may include:
 
Homeowner:
1) Utility bill for current month - either gas, electric or water (telephone bills are not accepted)
OR
2) Deed to home (rental agreement - rent receipts are not accepted)
 
Parent/Legal Guardian:
1) California Driver’s License (with current address of residence)
OR
2) California I.D. (with current address) Either of the above must be changed, if necessary, at the DMV prior to returning form to school. Form will not be approved if this is not done.
3) Mail that you have received at your residence (If personal mail is used, it must be current, postmarked within a month of the date of the form).
 
Examples of mail are: Mail that has been forwarded by the post office; Verification from social worker (AFDC); Bank Statement, imprinted checks from bank; Employment Records; Automobile Insurance.