KINDERGARTEN REGISTRATIONS: Parents are reminded that registration of Kindergarten students for 2019-2020 school year will begin at all elementary schools in the Norwalk-La Mirada Unified School District starting MARCH 4, 2019 and continuing through June 28, 2019. The hours for registering are from 8:00 am to 3:00 pm. Your cooperation in registering children as early as possible provides the school and district with information that helps determine the needs for teaching staff for our Kindergarten classes next August.
ORAL HEALTH ASSESSMENT: State law requires that all children entering Kindergarten or first grade, whichever is his or her first year in public school, have an oral health assessment. The law specifies that the assessment must be done by a licensed dentist or other licensed or registered dental health professional. An assessment within 12 months of enrollment into school also meets this requirement.
PHYSICAL EXAMINATION: State law requires that all children entering first grade must have received a physical examination (CHDP) within 18 months before or within 3 months after entering first grade.
HEALTH INFORMATION: State law requires that students entering California public schools for the first time must be fully immunized. Three doses of polio is sufficient if at least one was given on or after the 4th birthday, otherwise four doses are required. Four doses of Diphtheria, Tetanus and Pertussis (DTP) is sufficient if at least one dose was given on or after the 4th birthday, otherwise five doses is required. Two doses of each of the following: Measles, Mumps and Rubella (MMR). One more dose is required if any were given before the first birthday. Three doses of Hepatitis B. One dose of Varicella (Chicken Pox) is required if your child does not have a physician documentation of having had chicken pox.
AGE REQUIREMENTS: The Kindergarten age limit is set by California Law. In order to enter Kindergarten in August 2019, a child must be 5 years old on or before September 1, 2019.
PROOF OF BIRTHDATE: It is not necessary to take the child to the school at the time of registration. However, some proof of birthdate (such as baptismal record, passport or birth certificate) must be furnished. Children must be enrolled using the surname listed on the document submitted to satisfy the requirement (unless the surname has been changed by “Court Order”). If you do not have such proof, the following suggestion may be of help:
If a child was born in Los Angeles County, request a birth certificate at the Los Angeles County Registrar/Recorder Birth Records, 12400 Imperial Hwy, Norwalk, CA 90650. The following information is needed: Name of Child; Day, Month, Year of Birth; Place of Birth; Name of Father; Maiden Name of Mother. A $28.00 fee is required. You may also use the form “Affidavit for Proof of Age of Minor”, available at your school. Proof of birthdate is also required of children entering first grade who have not previously attended Kindergarten.
VERIFICATION OF RESIDENCY: Proof of residency is required upon enrollment of the student. Acceptable documents: utility bills (telephone bills are not accepted), rental agreement or other appropriate documentation.